Region, AD – Availability Domain and FD – Fault Domain

OCI – Oracle Cloud Infrastructure –
A Brief about Region, AD – Availability Domain and FD – Fault Domain

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure comprises regions which are localized geographic areas composed of one or more Availability Domain. And each Availability Domain is composed of three Fault Domains. An Availability Domain comprises one or more Data Centers located within a region. Availability Domains are Isolated each other. They are fault tolerant and unlikely to fail simultaneously. This is because Availability Domain don’t share Physical Infrastructure like Power, Cooling or the Internal Availability Domain Network.

A Fault Domain is a grouping of Hardware and Infrastructure within an Availability Domain. Each Availability Domain contains three Fault Domains. Fault Domains let you distribute instances so that they are not on the same physical hardware within a single Availability Domain. So an unexpected hardware failure or compute hardware maintenance that affects one fault domain does not affect instances in other fault domains.


Share This

Muhammad Rawish Siddiqui

Master in Computer Science (Database Engineering) and PGD in Management Information System.
45+ Online Certifications, which includes EDRP (EC-Council Disaster Recovery Professional), Data Management, Security+, DBaaS - Cloud Certified Expert, Oracle Cloud Autonomous Database Specialist, Oracle Database Cloud Certified Professional, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, OCP 7.3, 10g, 11g, 11i, R12, OCE/OCS 11i System Administration, Solaris, Linux and Real Application Cluster 10g, 11g, Oracle Autonomous Database, Real Application Cluster, Oracle Data Guard and Performance Tuning etc. .

Foremost interested areas include, Data Management, Oracle Databases and EBS Health Checks, Real Application Cluster, Disaster Recovery, GoldenGate and Oracle Cloud.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments