Oracle GoldenGate – Classic Capture Limitations and Integrated Capture Benefits

Classic Capture has some limitations, which preclude its usage for certain data types such as:

Index organized Table (IOT) with a mapping table
Direct load inserts to IOT tables (cannot be sorted)
XML stored as object-relational or XML Type tables
LONG VARCHAR and invisible columns

The most severe limitations, however, are the ones that affect compression. Classic Capture does not support Basic Compression, OLTP Compression and Exadata Hybrid Columnar Compression

In addition, Classic Capture does not support parallel DML on RAC databases.

The new capture system that is introduced with Oracle GoldenGate release 11.2 is called “Integrated” because it operates seamlessly with other RDBMS facilities (such as Logminer), and is able to understand internal formats such as the Logical Change Record (LCR), which is also used by Streams.

Because the Redo log files are accessed through the logmining server, Integrated Capture can switch automatically between different copies of archive logs or different mirrored versions of the online logs.

Integrated Capture removes most of the limitations of Classic Capture such as:

Basic Compression (in addition to OLTP compression) is supported.
Exadata Hybrid Columnar Compression is supported.
IOTs are supported without limitations.
XML stored as binary is captured from redo, whereas XML stored as object-relational is supported and captured from redo.
Parallel DML on RAC databases is now supported.
Integrated Capture improves table filtering efficiency.
Point-in-time recovery and RAC integration are also handled more efficiently.

HTML Table

About Me Muhammad Rawish Siddiqui
Some of My Articles
Autonomous & Cloud Database Specialist
Oracle Database Fleet Administrator
High Availability and Disaster Recovery Consultant
Oracle Certified Expert
Professional Oracle ERP DBA
EC-Concil Disaster Recovery Professional


Share This

Muhammad Rawish Siddiqui

Master in Computer Science (Database Engineering) and PGD in Management Information System.
45+ Online Certifications, which includes EDRP (EC-Council Disaster Recovery Professional), Data Management, Security+, DBaaS - Cloud Certified Expert, Oracle Cloud Autonomous Database Specialist, Oracle Database Cloud Certified Professional, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, OCP 7.3, 10g, 11g, 11i, R12, OCE/OCS 11i System Administration, Solaris, Linux and Real Application Cluster 10g, 11g, Oracle Autonomous Database, Real Application Cluster, Oracle Data Guard and Performance Tuning etc. .

Foremost interested areas include, Data Management, Oracle Databases and EBS Health Checks, Real Application Cluster, Disaster Recovery, GoldenGate and Oracle Cloud.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments